shutdown -s now

Locks

As the people who have read my About page might know, I have a background in information technology. I have a master’s degree in computer science and have grown up using SunOS and Sun Solaris machines. Although I do not call myself a true programmer (or hacker), writing shell scripts was something even I did on an almost daily basis. It’s so deeply ingrained into my brains that it represents real world events with shell script and vi commands. Manager replaced? %s/old manager/new manager/g. Project stopped? kill -s 9 0. Want to know something? man something.

I already wrote about my doubts on throwaway weekly on the companion blog. Throwaway weekly has outlived it’s usefulness, and my brain’s representation for the next step is shutdown -s now. In the unix world this is one of the commands that will put a machine to sleep.

Until someone wakes it up again.

(b.t.w. why the heck is Zemanta coming up with International Longshore and Warehouse Union as suggested tag???)

About Gooi Weg

Always travels with something on his head, and a camera in his pocket. Successful loser.
This entry was posted in photography, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

