Stoned

Cobblestone in sunlight

Strangely, the best pictures I take seem to be guided by chance. It happened with this one and this one, and last Tuesday it happened again.

I’m having a week off right now. A week, to just relax and do as little as possible. Read a book. Walk a bit. Do some shopping. This Tuesday I hit The Hague, in search of a fitness mat;  I’m doing my sit ups on the wooden floor, and my back threatened to go on strike when I would keep doing that. On my search I happened across The Hague’s old town hall, which was blazing in the low winter sun. I flipped out my camera and started FARTing, which in The Hague still makes heads turn around in surprise. Especially when it looks like you’re hugging the town hall…

Cobblestones - inadvertently shot

Inadvertent shot

After I was done I pointed the camera to the cobble stones and inadvertently pressed a button. I looked at my display and wondered. Not a bad subject. Certainly not in that sunlight… Hmm. All it needed was a little more FARTing.

I imagine some more eyebrows elevated from their resting position when I got on my knees, my head to the west, with a small, beaten old phone in front of me, to closely examine the cobblestones. I took two pictures and when later that day I saw them full screen I was well pleased with both of them. The one above is the most dramatic of the two.

And so, by accidentally pushing a button, I was led to take the best picture of that day. Will there ever be a day when I take a worthwhile shot without having to rely on chance?

About Gooi Weg

Always travels with something on his head, and a camera in his pocket. Successful loser.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

