Staring at nothing

The side of a sawing mill - black planks and shadows of support beams

Planks and shadows

As kids, puling a leg …
One of the silly games we loved to play as kids was to point at nothing in particular and in the middle of a crowd cry out “Look there!” A second kid (the accomplice-by-winking) would start looking in the same direction and utter affirming noises like “Yeah, I see it too!”, “Amazing!” and “Cool!” Soon the crowd of kids and teachers was staring. At nothing. The game was over when one of the initiators stopped being able to keep a straight face and group realized what they were staring at. The game teaches valuable lessons about marketing and journalism, but I won’t go there today.

Later in life, accidentally …
Often, when I’m farting people wonder what I’m looking at too. I once had a whole family staring up at a boring concrete pillar I just had taken a (crappy) picture of.

The little park surrounding the mill in the picture below is a popular place for walking the dog. So, when I was taking pictures there, I got the inevitable attention of one of the locals. We had a little small talk about how nice it was the mill was still kept operational, and how the weather was good for photographing and for walking dogs.

Overview of the mill and the park it surrounds

The kind of picture my friend the dog walker was probably expecting me to take

When I pointed my camera at the grayish planks and shadows, his eyes followed my lens, and his brows raised a little. He was still looking at what on earth I had snapped when I was already walking away and his dog was taking advantage of the occasion by doing a little farting of his own.

The mill in question is the Salamander sawmill in Leidschendam, The Netherlands (translation)


About Gooi Weg

Always travels with something on his head, and a camera in his pocket. Successful loser.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

